Why I Watched The Case of JonBenet Ramsey Instead of the Emmys

I suffer from award show fatigue. However, one thing I don’t suffer from is true crime fatigue. When I was a child, it wasn’t Freddy Krueger that scared me, or Jason, but movies that I managed somehow (wink, wink) to see like The Exorcist, supposedly based on actual events. The potential reality is what scared me.

Also, I distinctly remember freaking out about the dead body scene in Stand By Me. Although fiction, the story seemed plausible to me, and I put myself in the shoes of boys my age who saw a dead body of someone else their own age. Unfortunately,  that fictionalized fear became a reality when I attended the funeral of a boy in my karate class when I was thirteen.

I also like a good mystery. A mystery challenges not only your thought process but your perceptions. It forces you to step into the mindset of different people. And maybe that’s part of the thrill–toying, considering emotions and thoughts most of us succeed in keeping at bay. It’s a safe way to explore the dark side.

Even though I could find a way to stream or Youtube later, I was eager to get home for the much touted The Case of JonBenet Ramsey, a two-part investigative series.

The show is executive produced by Jim Clemente, a former FBI investigator, former New York City Law Dept. prosecutor and current technical advisor and writer for Criminal Minds. Admittedly obsessed with the case, Jim is joined by Scotland Yard behavioral analyst Laura Richards.

the-case-of-jonbenet-ramsey-investigators-promo.jpg

 Investigators on the case include James Kolar (from L to R), forensic pathologist Dr. Werner Spitz, forensic linguistic profiler James Fitzgerald, Laura Richards, forensic scientist Dr. Henry Lee, Jim Clemente, and Statement Analyst Stan Burke. Both James Fitzgerald and Stan Burke are former FBI agents. 

They’ve assembled a team of experts including former investigators on the case, forensic and linguistic experts. Among them is James Kolar, known to those familiar with the case as the author of Foreign Faction: a summary of his findings on the case in which he positions a theory that pretty much implicates her brother Burke as the possible perpetrator.

After reading Kolar’s book and watching the first installment of The Case of:  JonBenet Ramsey, I won’t be surprised that if after the end of the second part of the series they will put forth that Burke is the probable killer. After all, they did reconstruct a child’s skull and had a ten-year-old boy strike the skull with a flashlight they believe might have been used to kill her.

Unseemly? Maybe. Capitalizing on the recent thirst for true crime episodic series (a la the now Emmy-honored OJ Simpson: American Crime and podcast Serial) ? Most certainly. Riveting?  Ask my husband who I shushed as it came on.

Riveting?  Ask my husband who I shushed as it came on.

The conclusion of ‘The Case Of: JonBenet Ramsey” airs tonight on CBS at 9:00 pm PST. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

