From Artist of the Day: Casey Roberts. I was instantly struck by this photo. It reminded me of my childhood with the collage elements and trace stylistic similarities to the children’s book “The Snowy Day Book” by Ezra Jack Keats. Some of the best art is in children’s books. I also found this photo somewhat futuristic and very “present” and in tune with nature all at the same time. In the artist’s description of his work below, you can see his medium is a careful mixture of old and new techniques.

Casey Roberts on his work:

My work illustrates a fantastic landscape. It represents nature’s subtle way of dealing with the peculiar aspects in its relationship with mankind. A giant glow-in-the-dark heart, or a pile of precious gems tells us that we are loved, just as blood squirting from an oak tree trunk says, all is not well. I am inspired by my conversation with the landscape, I imagine long monologues when pine forests make me laugh and mountains test my patience.

My paintings are created with a photochemical process known as cyanotype. The cyanotype is a civil war era process that when exposed to sunlight and developed gives a vibrant blue image. I paint with this light sensitive medium directly on paper or canvas. With everyday items such as baking soda, bleach and peroxide I am able to achieve a range of colors and textures thru controlled chemical reactions. I repeat this process adding many layers until the image is fully realized, often finishing with watercolor painting or a collage element.

Leave a Reply

